Jenna’s Weekend Food Prep #1

Hi Everyone! Thanks for visiting our blog. This will be post #1 for my (Jenna’s) weekend food prep. Weekend food prepping helps me save time and eat healthy throughout the busy week. I start by making a list of meals and snacks I want have for the following week and then create a grocery list based off those meals. Typically I do my grocery shopping on Friday or Saturday and food prep on Sunday. I like to use recipes in the beginning of the week that utilize most of the fresh produce and save any frozen produce for end of week meals.

IMAG1148_1

I started off washing and chopping celery stalks into bite size pieces to have on hand for a snack with hummus this week. I love the taste of the crisp celery paired with creamy hummus!

IMAG1151_1_1

The picture above shows the Roasted Sweet Potato Salad I made for dinner (will last about 2-3 nights for 2 people). Night one, I baked chicken breasts to go with it, seasoning them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and paprika. Night two, I served it on top of corn tortillas with cheese and salsa on top. The recipe I used was inspired by a recipe from Twopeasandtheirpod.com :

http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/southwestern-grilled-sweet-potato-salad/ 

Tips and Tweaks: Instead of grilling the vegetables, I roasted them as it was a little chilly out that day (I only roasted the sweet potatoes, bell peppers and corn, the other veggies I left fresh). My husband is not a big fan of cilantro, so I used some dried parsley and garlic powder for additional flavor. I also had some grape tomatoes and celery I tossed in.  I’ve made this recipe several times for guests and everyone loves it!

 

IMAG1156_1_1

Next is a Citrus Chicken Quinoa Salad for lunch this week. I made enough to last my husband and I about 3-4 days. It’s a huge time saver to make a big batch of this salad and pre-portion it into lunch tupperware to grab out of the fridge. This salad was inspired from the following post from sallysbakingaddiction.com :

 http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/06/12/citrus-chicken-quinoa-salad/  

Tips and Tweaks: I added chopped green onion, grape tomatoes, bell peppers and 2 cans of garbanzo beans(wanted to have more veggies in the salad and add some bulk with the beans). I left out the avocado in fear that it would turn brown before the end of the week. If you wanted, you could add fresh slices of avocado separately each day  to maintain the color(the citrus will help hold the color and freshness as well). Instead of roasting garlic cloves, I used garlic powder to save me some time in food prep.  This salad is both filling and refreshing!

That’s it for the food prep this weekend. Enjoy 🙂

Jenna

 

Leave a Reply

