Twin Bites Tuesday ~C

Breakfast

vanilla blueberry banana oatmeal

I enjoy starting my morning with a warm bowl of oatmeal! Today I cooked my oats with vanilla almond milk (I use to cook them in water, but after cooking them in vanilla almond milk, I realized I was missing out on a creamy slightly sweet vanilla yumminess! Plus the benefits of added calcium and vitamin D). Then I blended in cinnamon, ground flaxseed, blueberries, and banana. This is one of my favorite combinations. Keep an eye out for our post all about oatmeal variations coming soon!

Morning Snack

kashi

I usually have a granola bar for a morning snack. Occasionally, I will make my own but if I don’t have time to meal prep a batch on the weekend I will grab a box at the store. I’ve always enjoyed Kashi’s Pumpkin Spice Flax granola bar (great taste and a good amount of protein and fiber to hold me over).

Lunch

I had mixed greens topped with leftover cucumber salad that a friend made (it served as a dressing too!) along with my fiesta whole grain salad that I prepped on the weekend and some Triscuits.

Afternoon Snack

egg and orange

For an afternoon snack, I always aim for a protein food combined with a high fiber food. Today, I had a hard-boiled egg that I had prepped on the weekend along with an orange (they have been tasting delicious this time of year).

Dinner

stuffed sweet potato and broccoli

For dinner, I went with a “go-to” meal: stuffed sweet potatoes (recipe and variations to come in the future). On Monday night I baked 4 sweet potatoes (a great meal prep item) to use during the week, so I grabbed 2 out and reheated them for Todd and I. In a skillet, I cooked ground turkey, onion, red bell pepper, garlic, tomato sauce, and dried basil and oregano. I topped that on the sweet potato. I steamed a bag of frozen broccoli in the microwave, drizzled it with olive oil, sprinkled salt and pepper, and served it with a lemon wedge to squeeze on top. It was a pleasing and balanced meal for both of us!

Dessert

After dinner, I enjoyed a cool creamy bowl of vanilla soymilk ice cream blended with cinnamon. I love to use my Anthropologie bowls, they are a perfect size for a small sweat treat! ~ Chelsey

cinnamon icecream

Leave a Reply

