Jenna’s Weekend Food Prep #2

I am loving all of the beautiful colors of spring, the flowers, trees, gardens and am inspired to make my meals just as colorful and bright. I hope you enjoy some of the food prepping and meals below!

I started off by making these homemade Buckwheat Pancakes (gluten free). These pancakes are light and airy and have a great nutty flavor from the buckwheat. Because I knew they would be delicious and wouldn’t last long, I made a double batch and froze the left overs for another day. Check out the recipe on cookieandkate.com:

http://cookieandkate.com/2013/buckwheat-pancakes/ 

Tips and Tweaks: The recipe calls for either using only buckwheat flour as the base or using half buckwheat and half all purpose flour. I ended up using half buckwheat flour and half all purpose gluten free flour for a lighter texture. Instead of sugar, I used an equivalent amount of honey, I prefer to use either honey or pure maple syrup for sweetness instead of various other sugars. For the toppings I used almond butter,honey, walnuts and cinnamon.

Next, I made an Italian Egg Casserole, it’s savory, fresh and comforting. Egg casseroles are so versatile and easy to make. This served as a weekend lunch for my husband and I and I had enough to freeze the leftovers for another day. Egg casseroles freeze really well and are a great option for a quick meal later in the week; just cut into individual portion sizes and store in an airtight freezer bag.

To Make: Saute hash browns in a skillet and spread them in a baking dish lined with foil and/or sprayed with non-stick oil. Saute chopped mushrooms and add them to the dish. Next, add chopped green onion, spinach leaves, chopped candian bacon and prosciutto. Whisk  10 eggs, a splash of milk, salt, pepper and garlic powder and pour it over top. Sprinkle shredded cheese (I used Swiss and Gruyere) on top and bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 25-35 minutes or until eggs are set and the cheese starts to brown on the edges. Lastly, top it off with fresh basil and chopped green onion.

 

Here’s where the bright colors really come in! I purchased several different vegetables that are great for roasting and chopped them into similar sized pieces. Some of my favorite roasted vegetables and the ones I used above are: brussel sprouts, carrots (multi-colored), sweet potatoes, red potatoes, and beets. Roasting vegetables is super easy and brings out the natural sweet and savory flavors of the vegetables. Feel free to use other vegetables that you may like.

To Make: line a baking sheet with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray. Add your chopped vegetables and drizzle with EVOO. Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder and dried or fresh herbs. Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 30-35min. or until desired tenderness.

Tips and Tweaks: Beets typically take longer to roast than the other vegetables, so I would recommend cutting them into smaller size pieces.

My last food prep for the weekend was making this Layered Thai Salad. I made enough to last my husband and I four days for lunch this week. It’s full of flavor and appealing to the eye.

To Make: The bottom layer is Jasmine white rice, (you could use brown rice for added fiber, but Aaron and I eat plenty of brown rice, so thought I’d change it up a bit) cook using pkg. instructions. The next layer is the salad, full of fresh vegetables and vegetable protein sources ( 1 bag chopped cabbage, 2 handfuls of arugula, 4 large chopped carrots, chopped green onion, 1/2 cup unsalted peanuts, and 1 cup edamame). I dressed it with a homemade Thai salad dressing, but you could use any Thai or Asian inspired salad dressing. Last I made a simple salmon salad to go on top (canned salmon, plain greek yogurt, lemon juice, soy sauce, salt, pepper and garlic powder).

That’s it for this week. Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kathy Attaway says:

    Jen, this is so fun. I will definitely use some of your recipes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

