Some like it hot, Some like it cold…

Some like it in the pot 9 days old!

We both enjoy oatmeal for breakfast most mornings of the week. While we like to change it up sometimes, we each have our favorite way to eat oatmeal which are shared with you below. We would love it if you would share with us your favorite oatmeal creation by commenting on our post!

Vanilla Blueberry Banana Oatmeal with Walnuts (Chelsey)

image

The name pretty much says it all. I have tried many different combinations of fruits, nuts, and seeds in my oatmeal and this is my favorite mix.

First, I cook my old fashioned oats (1/2 cup) in unsweetened vanilla almond milk (3/4 cup) and stir in cinnamon. The vanilla almond milk makes it creamy and slightly sweet. Then, I stir in blueberries (1/3 cup) and sliced banana (1/2) and top with chopped walnuts (2 Tbsp.). The blueberries pair well with the vanilla flavor and provide a burst of juiciness in each bite. The walnuts give a pleasing nutty crunch too. I hope you give it a try and enjoy!

image

 

Savory Oats: with kale and a fried egg (Jenna)

IMAG1244_1_1

 

My new breakfast obsession: savory oats. I had mentioned savory oats in my first Twin Bites Tuesday post and below is the recipe for my favorite way to eat them. To be honest, I was never much of a savory breakfast person. I’d have the occasional omelet, but would always prefer sweeter versions of oatmeal, pancakes or waffles, granola and fruit, etc. I started trying to find ways to add more veggies in my diet and I knew the one place they were lacking was breakfast. So, I thought I’d give savory oats a try… and so glad I did! The oats actually taste more like barley when made savory. Honestly, you could add any veggie or protein source that you would typically put in an omelet and it would turn out delicious. I hope you give this recipe a try!

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup (heaping) Whole Rolled Oats
  • ¾ cup Water
  • 1- 1 ½ cup(s) Kale (stems removed and leaves finely chopped)
  • 1 Green Onion (chopped)                                                                                           IMAG1238_1
  •  1 Large Egg
  • 4 Basil Leaves (fresh, chopped) or ½ tsp. dried
  • ½ Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)
  • ½ tsp. Honey or Pure Maple Syrup
  • Garlic Powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Directions:

  1. Place oats in a microwave safe bowl and add water.
  2. Add chopped Kale and green onion on top.
  3. Microwave for two and a half minutes and allow to sit for at least one minute.
  4. While oats are cooking, spray a small skillet with non-stick cooking spray, and turn stove on medium high.IMAG1241_1
  5. Cook egg to your liking (I prefer fried over hard or medium) and season with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Set aside.
  6. Add chopped basil, EVOO, honey or maple syrup to oats.
  7. Sprinkle oats with garlic powder and salt to taste.
  8. Mix all ingredients well and add your egg on top.

 

Tips and Tweak’s:                                                                           

  • Use any kind of leafy green vegetable you like. If you add a more delicate green such as baby spinach leaves or arugula, cook the oats first and add the greens after.
  • Some like to add cheese in their savory oats (parmesan, mozzarella or cheddar)
  • You could also prepare the oats in a pot on the stove.
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah J says:

    I like baked oatmeal muffins, but I will have to try your recipes! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. twinbites says:

      Yum! I”ll have to get the recipe from you sometime 🙂

      Like

  2. Claudia says:

    I like to add cooked chopped apples, lots of cinnamon , and a little bit of nutmeg to my oatmeal! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. twinbites says:

      That sounds delicious! Will have to try soon 🙂

      Like

  3. Aaron says:

    Great post! I eat oatmeal every morning with a little cinnamon, honey, walnuts and peanut butter which I find delicious. My absolute favorite way, though, is with bacon and maple syrup!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

