Chelsey’s Weekend Meal Prep #2

Check out some great foods and recipes to meal prep below! I was particularly excited about the cookie recipe which you will see has some pretty surprising ingredients and a stir fry using spaghetti squash instead of rice. Todd is out of town for work most of the week, so it was really helpful for me to meal prep this past weekend.

  1. Chop up fresh fruit! Great as a snack or side for lunch.

image

2. Bake spaghetti squash.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line baking sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray. Cut squash in half. Scoop out seeds. Drizzle EVOO. Turn face down on baking sheet. Roast in oven 35-45 minutes. Remove, let cool, and scrape out spaghetti with a fork.

3. Marinate, bake, and cut chicken breasts.

I marinated 2 large chicken breasts in balsamic vinaigrette and 2 large chicken breasts in teriyaki sauce for a few hours in the fridge. I placed them on a foil lined baking sheet, put them in the oven with the spaghetti squash, and baked them until done about 25-30 minutes. Once done and cooled, I cut them into pieces and stored them in the fridge.

4. Chop up a variety of veggies.

Some for my lunch: Power Chicken Hummus Bowl (see below) and some for my dinner: Spaghetti Squash Stir Fry (see below).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Spaghetti Squash Stir Fry

image

For easy dinners this week, in a small skillet I scrambled an egg, added in some of the spaghetti squash and chicken I had meal prepped over the weekend, tossed with teriyaki sauce until heated through, and put them in my bowl. I did this step each night. I sauteed the veggies I prepped over the weekend with sesame oil, teriyaki sauce, minced garlic, and rice vinegar and added some on top of my spaghetti squash chicken stir fry and put the rest in the fridge for other nights. It was quite delicious! I ate it 3 nights in a row 😉

Power Chicken Hummus Bowl

image

Using my weekend meal prep chicken and veggies I threw together these “Power Chicken Hummus Bowls” for my lunches. I use to get this at Panera Bread, it was an “off the menu item” and now it is off the menu/no longer available. My favorite part: the fresh lemon juice, cilantro, and hummus serve as a salad dressing substitute and make for a refreshing flavorful meal!

5. Dark Chocolate Chunk Pecan Love Bites

These were super easy to make, just blend all of the ingredients at once in a food processor. Most of the ingredients I already had at home. I was skeptical about how they would taste, (they are actually made with chickpeas) but they were delicious! The texture is soft and just slightly grainy from the ground flaxseeds. The taste has a hint of sweetness from the maple syrup and a little sea salt compliments it well. The star ingredients/flavors in my opinion are the pecans and dark chocolate. I recommend giving them a try! Check out the recipe below:

http://www.eastewart.com/recipes-and-nutrition/gluten-free-heart-healthy-2013-chocolate-pecan-love-bites/

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6. Spring Frittata

This made 4 servings. It was Todd and I’s lunches last weekend paired with fresh ciabotta and multigrain bread dipped in extra virgin olive oil. I chopped and sauteed fresh veggies (asparagus, mushrooms, red onion, red bell pepper), added in 5 eggs and 2 egg whites whisked together with salt and pepper, sprinkled with dried Italian herbs and crushed red pepper flakes, and finally broiled in the oven until set.

imageimage

 

Leave a Reply

