Jenna’s Weekend Food Prep #3

I was lucky enough to have both Friday and Saturday afternoon to food prep this past weekend. I think you will find some great ideas for future meal planning in this list. Enjoy!

1. I started off making  Walnut, Dark Chocolate and Oat Breakfast Cookies (gluten free). These cookies are easy to make as you only need one bowl to mix everything together. The toasted walnut flavor really stands out in these. Also present are rich flavors of the dark chocolate and the sweetness brought out by the sea salt. You could eat these for an on-the-go breakfast, as a snack or healthy dessert. This recipe made about 32 mini cookies that I bagged up and stored in the freezer. They will keep for a while so my husband and I can pull them as desired. The final recipe will be posted soon!

wp-1461600616290.jpeg

2. Next I made a double batch of Savory Spinach and Cheese Waffles (gluten free). The recipe I used was from a blog post at EdiblePerspective.com, see link below. This served as a great weekend lunch and I froze the left overs for a dinner this week (breakfast for dinner!) I loved the combination of the savory waffle with fried egg, turkey bacon and avocado slices on top, delicious!

http://www.edibleperspective.com/home/2013/5/20/savory-spinach-cheese-waffles.html

wp-1461600462880.jpeg

Tips and Tweaks:

  • Instead of almond milk, I used skim milk as that is what I had on hand and it turned out fine as a substitute.
  • I never have applesauce at my home, but always have a banana, so I swapped those those two. The banana helped add moistness to the waffles without tasting the banana flavor, it was a perfect substitute.
  •  I used a blend of shredded cheeses (Pepper Jack, Monterrey Jack and Habanero Jack). The next time around I plan to change up the cheeses I use. I don’t think these were sharp enough to stand out in the savory waffles. Parmesan, Asiago or sharp cheddar cheese would be better.
  • My husband added maple syrup to his as he said savory or sweet, he can’t have a waffle without maple syrup. He said it was really good – if you’re up for it! Otherwise salsa or sriracha would work well.

3. After lunch, I chopped a variety of vegetables. Some went into the salad I made for the week (see below) and some I roasted to have with dinners this week. I also marinated Salmon fillets with teriyaki, garlic powder, salt and pepper (not pictured).

4. The weather was so nice out and perfect for grilling. I ended up grilling the teriyaki marinated salmon fillets for dinner; grilled chicken breasts to go in the salad for lunch and also to have for dinner sometime this week; grilled turkey burgers that I wrapped individually and froze to pull out for a quick lunch or dinner.

  • A side note on Salmon: I always try to get Alaskan, Wild Caught as it is more environmentally friendly, and from a clean water source leading to lower levels of contaminants. Seafood Watch is a great app to find the best and worst sources of seafood.

wp-1461600502694.jpeg

5. Lastly, I put together the Mexican Grilled Chicken and Quinoa Salad to serve as lunch most days this week. I made quinoa and added the diced grilled chicken breast, seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, EVOO and smoked paprika. I mixed the chopped vegetables (roasted sweet potato, grape tomatoes, zucchini, broccoli, jalapeno pepper, purple onion) with black beans and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, smoked paprika, chili powder and a juice of a lime. This salad is so refreshing with the vegetables and lime juice and savory from the grilled chicken and smoked paprika flavors.

wp-1461600522654.jpeg

I did set aside a good part of my Saturday to food prep, but had fun doing it and it will definitely pay off this week!

Leave a Reply

