Twin Bites Tuesday~C

I’ve been trying several new meals and snacks this week! Check them out below with what I ate on Tuesday.

For breakfast today, I went with a new savory oatmeal that I have been enjoying lately. I whisked an egg with 1/2 cup water in my bowl and stirred in 1/2 cup old fashioned oats and a dash of salt. In the microwave it went (2minutes). It came out thick and set (just as it should), so I fluffed it with a fork. I steamed broccoli florets and drizzled EVOO on top and added them to the oats. I topped it off with chopped walnuts. Yum… You should give this combination a try!

On the way to work, I stopped by Starbucks for a short pike with steamed soy milk~ a weekly treat to myself 😉

My morning snack was pumpkin dark chocolate energy bites. I modified the dark chocolate cherry energy bites that I usually make for Todd (http://www.irunonnutrition.com/2013/07/19/dark-chocolate-red-tart-cherry-energy-bites/) by substituting the dried cherries with pumpkin (canned) and added cinnamon. My new favorite, next time I will make a bigger batch!

image

Sushi bowls for lunch this week! It’s something I’ve been wanting to try for a while. I’ve never made sushi rolls before, but they seem like they could be a little time consuming, so throwing everything together in a bowl seemed like a good alternative to me… And it tasted like sushi! I flavored cooked jasmine rice with rice vinegar, sesame oil, and soy sauce; added a half sheet of nori/seaweed (seaweed contains iodine which is lacking in most other natural foods and could be lacking in your diet if you avoid iodized salt. Iodine in moderation (3 sushi rolls per week!) is important for a healthy thyroid.) ; threw in sliced orange bell pepper and cucumber for a nice crunch; added cooked and chilled salad shrimp marinated in soy sauce; and last but not least, wasabi on the side! (The people that make the sushi rolls at the grocery recommended the powder wasabi that you just add water to instead of the paste, so I went with that.) I also had carrots with hummus (not pictured), a go-to side that I really enjoy.

I enjoyed a honey crisp apple and hard boiled  organic egg for my afternoon snack. This combo holds me over well.

image

I’m utilizing some meal prep items for dinners this week. I chopped up a lot of veggies (zucchini, asparagus, red bell peppers) and made a batch of turkey meatballs (check out the recipe here: http://lexiscleankitchen.com/2013/05/27/loaded-turkey-meatballs/). For dinner tonight, I sautéed mushrooms, tomatoes, and crumbled turkey meatballs and topped them on naan breads spread with pesto (feta cheese on top-optional but delicious) and baked then in the oven. I enjoyed it with the pre-prepped sautéed veggies seasoned with EVOO, salt, pepper, and oregano. It was delicious and Todd agreed.

image

I utilized the other turkey meatballs and chopped veggies for two other dinners this week. Thin whole wheat spaghetti in pesto with the meatballs and veggies on top. Meatballs and veggies sautéed with teriyaki sauce, rice vinegar, and sesame oil served over rice for a stir fry. Who new a batch of meatballs could be used for such a variety of different dishes!

I ended the evening with a bowl of Kashi Honey Sunshine cereal with almonds and almond milk!

image

 

Leave a Reply

