Jenna’s Weekend Food Prep #4

on

This weekend’s food prep features turkey bean chili which I’ve been making for a while now, so it was quick to make and perfect for storing in the freezer for a meal later this week. I also tried something new, homemade falafel’s with a cashew tahini spread. Check out these food prep ideas and more below!

BBQ Marinated Chicken Breasts and Turkey Burger Prep

wp-1462751079491.jpeg

I trimmed boneless skinless chicken breasts and put them in a bag with BBQ sauce to marinate. I will bake them early this week and pair them with roasted red skinned potatoes and green beans. This will be enough for two dinners this week.

For the turkey burgers, I combined ground turkey, an egg, ground flaxseed, garlic powder, salt, pepper and smoked paprika in bowl. I formed the mixture into patties and cooked them on the stove. I froze these burgers as they are so easy to take out one at a time and reheat for a quick meal paired with steamed vegetables and rice.

Cashew Tahini Spread

wp-1462751090968.jpeg

This spread has so much flavor and went well with several items I made this weekend including roasted cauliflower steaks (pictured below), falafel wraps (for lunch this week) and a dip for fresh vegetables. I got the idea from a meal I had in Napa Valley. My husband thought I was crazy for getting grilled cauliflower steaks with cashew tahini at a nice restaurant, but it was one of my favorite meals on the trip.

The tahini spread is made from soaked cashews, tahini paste, garlic cloves, lemon juice, EVOO, onion powder and water. Blend all items in a small food processor until creamy. Find a similar recipe at glutenfreegoddess.com:

https://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2010/09/raw-cashew-hummus.html?m=1

wp-1462751098779.jpeg

Turkey and Bean Chili

wp-1462751109869.jpeg

This chili is delicious, comforting and quick to prepare. I froze the chili in two separate containers and will them get out later this week for dinner. I plan to make fried polenta cakes to go with it.

The chili contains ground turkey, mixed beans, canned tomatoes, orange bell pepper, onion and vegetable broth. It’s seasoned with chili powder, smoked paprika, cumin, cinnamon, salt, pepper and garlic powder.

Sliced Bell Peppers and Cubed Fresh Pineapple

wp-1462751144851.jpeg

Fresh Pineapple is on sale right now and tasting delicious! I cut the pineapple in bit size pieces and stored the fridge to have for a snack this week. I also sliced organic bell peppers to go along side the falafel wraps for lunch. Any extra tahini sauce will serve as a great dip.

Baked Kale Falafel Wraps

wp-1462751136793.jpeg

I’ve been wanting to make homemade falafel’s for a while and found this delicious recipe from nutritionistinthekitch.com. Follow the link below to access.

http://www.nutritionistinthekitch.com/delicious-and-simple-baked-kale-falafel-vegangluten-free-and-fave-five-friday-chickpea-deliciousness/

I used soft corn tortillas for the wrap as my husband and I eat gluten free, we love the taste and the price is much more reasonable than gluten free flour tortillas. I spread the cashew tahini spread on the tortilla and added a kale slaw along with the falafel’s.

wp-1462751148610.jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

