These are a few of my favorite things…

on

I’m giving thanks for a wonderful weekend where I was able to enjoy doing many of my favorite things! I encourage you to take the time to do what you love.

These are a few of my favorite things…

1.Planting a garden.

image

This year I planted 3 sweet bell pepper plants, 1 grape tomato and 1 cherry tomato plant, squash and zucchini plants, and herbs: thyme, basil, and cilantro.

2. Landscaping and flowers.

image

It’s been a work in progress, but I am slowly but surely learning how to “landscape”!

Genesis 2:9New International Version (NIV)

9 The Lord God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground—trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food.

3. Cooking and Giada de Laurentis.

Giada is my favorite food network chef and I wanted to make a few recipes from two of her newest cookbooks I have. They feature healthy and simple recipes which I love!

Dark chocolate mini muffins from Giada’s Feel Good Food cookbook. They are made with just a few simple ingredients including a gluten free whole grain, lightly sweetened with maple syrup, and very chocolaty. Yum!

Polenta waffles from Giada’s Happy Cooking cookbook. They are a mix between  waffles and corn bread and can be enjoyed savory or sweet! I tried some of mine with maple syrup, blueberries and pecans and some with scrambled eggs and veggies. I’m still searching for the best combination for them (I’m thinking plain Greek yogurt or an over medium egg would be good), so I will definitely be making them again.

Dairy free mushroom and pea risotto from Giada’s Happy Cooking cookbook. I found that risotto is a relaxing dish to make! Take a half hour to continuously and gently stir liquid (broth and dry white wine), one cup at a time, into the rice until about 6 cups have been absorbed, enjoy the aromas of carmelized onion and garlic, and sip on some of the leftover white wine. I swapped spinach leaves for the peas and the dish turned out creamy and delicious!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4. Grilling and eating outside. A new favorite thing to grill: pizzas! Check out the super easy and delicious pizza crust recipe here. http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2012/03/jim-laheys-no-knead-pizza-dough-recipe.html They only take 5 minutes to grill! Toppings include pizza sauce, sautéed onions, mushrooms, bell peppers, oregano, and Italian blend shredded cheese. One also had spinach and the other proscutio.

5. And spending time with family!

Psalm 139:14New International Version (NIV)

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelly Goepfrich says:

    I would love the recipe for the mini dark chocolate muffins! I’m always looking for good gluten free recipes!! First time on here! This is neat!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. twinbites says:

    Thanks! I will get the recipe to you soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

