Farro with roasted mushrooms and green beans

I prepared this farro with roasted mushrooms and green beans dish to have for my lunches this week. When I found the recipe I couldn’t wait to make it, because I love roasted veggies, the chewiness of farro, and it looked easy to make.

image

It just took a few simple steps:

Cooking the farro. I recommend getting the quick cooking farro to save time. It just takes 10 minutes. Farro is a whole grain, a variety of wheat. It has a slightly chewy texture and nutty taste, soooo good!

image

Then roasting the green beans and mushrooms in the oven with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I love the roasted flavors and how the veggies get brown and toasted in spots.

Finally tossing all the ingredients together including feta cheese, a salty tangy flavor; chopped walnuts for a nice crunch and more nuttiness, and simply seasoned with salt, pepper, and fresh thyme.

image

Here is the link to the recipe:

http://www.closetcooking.com/2012/01/roasted-mushroom-and-green-bean-farro.html?m=1

For lunch, I will add more protein such as chicken, canned salmon, or chickpeas.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

